Entrevista – Louichi Mayorga

Depois de quase dois meses de insistência, finalmente o Louichi Mayorga, um dos primeiros baixistas do Suicidal, respondeu às minhas perguntas. Durante todo esse tempo, ele foi sempre camarada nas trocas de emails, mas se dizia ocupado. Enfim, valeu a pena esperar.

Sumidão da mídia há muito tempo, ainda morando em Venice, Mayorga deu uma geral nos tempos de ST. Ele foi o titular das quatro cordas de 1982 a 1987, gravou o álbum de estreia e o Join the Army. Falou do começo da banda, da relação com as gangues locais e detonou Mike Muir quando perguntado sobre a sua polêmica saída do grupo.

Nos últimos anos, deu uma de “manager” no lançamento da segunda versão da coletânea Welcome to Venice. (compre aqui). Reuniu também os ex-ST Grant Estes e Amery Smith, que com Muir gravaram o primeiro disco, para formar uma nova banda, chamada AgainST.

Optei por publicar as respostas dele em inglês, para a rapaziada que é ligeira no idioma possa captar exatamente o que o Mayorga quis dizer. Mas fiz uma tradução livre para a turma que não manja muito. Aproveitem!

Você sempre morou em Venice?
You asked about living in Venice. I was born in Santa Monica, because Venice didn’t have a hospital. Lived in Venice for like six years, them my dad bought a house in Santa Monica, because it was too dangerous where I was living. I had a brother in a gang Venice 13 (V13), so I grew up near the beach in SM. It was full of artists and skaters (all Dogtown), surfers and this was seven blocks away from Venice. I later moved back to Venice when I joined Suicidal. I just turned 18.

Você perguntou sobre viver em Venice. Eu nasci em Santa Monica, porque Venice não tinha um hospital. Vivi em Venice cerca de seis anos, então meu pai comprou uma casa em Santa Monica, porque era muito perigoso onde morávamos.  Eu tive um irmão na gang Venice 13 (V13), então eu cresci perto da praia em SM. Era cheio de artistas, skatistas (todos Dogtown), surfistas, era a sete quadras longe de Venice. Depois eu me voltei para Venice quando entrei para o Suicidal. Eu tinha acabado de completar dezoito anos.

Infância em Santa Mônica

Infância em Santa Mônica

Como você entrou no Suicidal?
I was in a long line for first year of college and Mike was in front of me in line. We started talking and he said he was looking for a bass player for his band. I recently heard about them. I remember his main question was “can you use your fourth finger?” and I said yah. So I went and tried out. I knew I had the job as soon as I started playing.

Eu estava em uma fileira (?) do primeiro ano de segundo grau e Mike estava na minha frente. Nós começamos a conversar e ele me disse que estava procurando um baixista para sua banda. Recentemente eu havia ouvido falar sobre ele. Eu me lembro que sua principal pergunta foi “você consegue usar seu quarto dedo?” e eu disse que sim. Então eu fui e tentei. Eu sabia que consegui o emprego logo que comecei a tocar.

O ST é sempre associado às gangues. Em algum momento chegou a existir uma relação direta?
Yah! We had family and friends in the gangs (V13), so we dressed our certain way like the homeboys did and like our older brothers. Cause they would of laughed at us, if we looked like punkers. They probably would of called us “wanna be white boys”, like goofy, with mohawks and piercing and just looking “cochinos”.

Nós tivemos família e amigos em gangues (V13), então nós nos vestimos em certo modo como os homeboys e como nossos irmãos mais velhos. Porque eles iriam rir se nós nos parecêssemos como punkers. Provavelmente, eles iriam nos chamar de “metidos a garotos brancos”, como goofy, com moicanos e piercing e apenas parecendo cochinos.

Qual foi o seu melhor momento no grupo? E o pior?
The best time I had was seeing our Institutionalized video on MTV. And my worst moment, of course, was Mike kicking me out of the band. He said my playing got worse and I wasn’t good anymore. What an asshole. How does someone get worse at their instrument?

O melhor momento eu tive ao ver nosso clipe de Institutionalized na MTV. E o meu pior momento, claro, foi quando Mike me chutou fora da banda. Ele disse que eu estava tocando pior, que eu não era bom mais. Que asshole! Como alguém consegue ficar pior em seu instrumento?

Na Alemanha com o ST em 1987

Na Alemanha com o ST em 1987

Por que você deixou o Suicidal? É verdade que você foi demitido pelo Mike Muir?
Turned out, one of the reasons, I think he wanted me out was he had a lot of money of mine. I didn’t know about. I didn’t know till later. I had to sue him to get my money back, about 100 thousand dollars. He thought I would never find out about the money. Cheap bastard.

Uma das razões, eu penso que Mike queria que eu saísse porque estava com um monte de dinheiro meu. Eu não sabia disso. Não soube durante muito tempo. Eu tive que processar ele para ter meu dinheiro de volta, cerca de 100 mil dólares. Ele pensava que eu nunca iria saber do dinheiro.

Atualmente, você tem relação com algum membro da banda?
I have no relationship with Muir. But I talk to everyone else. I just played the other night with Mike Clark at a club. We did all songs from first record. Last week recorded with Amery Smith. So I’m in touch with everybody.

Eu não tenho nenhum tipo de relacionamento com o Muir. Mas eu converso com qualquer outro. Eu toquei com o Mike Clark em uma noite dessas. Nós tocamos todas as músicas do primeiro disco. Semana passada gravei com o Amery Smith. Então eu estou em contato com todo mundo.

Vi uma foto sua com o Jay Adams. Ele fez parte dos Suicidal Boyz, certo?
Yah! I just talked to Jay Boy yesterday. He is doing good four years sober. We both lost a good friend Paul Cullen, a Z-Boy too. He was really bummed.

Sim! Eu falei com o Jay Boy ontem. Ele está bem, quatro anos sóbrio. Nós perdemos um grande amigo, Paul Cullen, um Z-Boy também. Ele estava muito deprimido.

O lendário skatista Jay Adams e Louichi

O lendário skatista Jay Adams e Louichi

Recentemente, você formou o AgainST com o Grant Estes e o Amery Smith, também ex-membros do Suicidal. Como foi essa experiência?
I’m trying to get something going with AgainST right now. But we all have different schedules. Who knows, maybe we’ll get a CD out!

Estou tentando conseguir algo com o AgainST agora. Mas nós temos horários diferentes. Quem sabe, talvez nós lancemos um CD.

O que você faz atualmente?
I struggle with bills, of course. I have a four year old daughter and I’m getting to release another Welcome2Venice CD!

Eu luto contra as dívidas. Tenho uma filha de quatro anos e estou conseguindo o lançamento de outro CD de Welcome2Venice.

Louichi (primeiro à esquerda) e família em Venice

Louichi (primeiro à esquerda) e família em Venice

13 Comentários

Arquivado em ST for Life

13 Respostas para “Entrevista – Louichi Mayorga

  1. dude

    Histórico.
    Parabéns Pugliesi.

  2. Parabéns pelo site dedicado à melhor banda de hardcore do mundo!

    Se quiser conhecer os sites do qual faço parte:

    http://sonsdovodu.blogspot.com
    http://sitedafirma.blogspot.com
    http://diariodeumrabugento.wordpress.com

    Já salvei esse no meus favoritos…
    Still Cyco Muthafucka!!!

  3. George

    CARALHO..
    parabéns cara
    mandou muito bem

  4. Cara, muito bom o blog!
    Ainda não terminei de ler, inteiro, mas essa entrevista e o vídeo da antiga são muito foda!
    Abraço, parabéns

  5. Showw, muito boa a entrevista, valeu!

  6. Parabens pelo blog ! Um grande olá a todos os Cycos ao redor do Brasil e do mundo ! Stay Cyco !

  7. André AxSxF!

    Muito bom mesmo! Demorei a descobrir este blog!

  8. Marcelo Gomes

    Muito loka a foto do Louichi com a familia, hehe, gordão, pá bem estilo gangue mesmo!

  9. lucas cantino the luqueta

    Parabens pela serie de entrevistas suicidal é uma de minhas bandas favoritas,não sou banger,curto funk…
    sucesso abraços e fica com DEUS

  10. Pingback: Mayorga na bronca… « SUICIDAL MANIAC

  11. Pingback: ST Tour – Streets of Venice « SUICIDAL MANIAC

  12. Steve

    >> L.A. Guitarist (Suicidal Tendencies/Los Cycos)                                                                      Rare interview from 1989
    >> Anthony Gallo interviewed by Dan Rutherby.
    >>
    >> 1) When did you start playing guitar? I was about thirteen years old.
    >> 2)How did you meet Mike Muir? We met through Chuck Dukowski of Black Flag. He had seen my band New Regime play at *Loud Lou’s Deafening Sounds and came up to us saying that we sounded a lot like Suicidal Tendencies. At the time I had never even heard of them as I was from the San Fernando Valley, so I asked my singer Todd to let me borrow their record and I loved it!
      3)How did you Join Suicidal? Well i never really “Joined” Suicidal, I kinda just grew into the part. Mike and I became really good friends and shared a lot of the same interests.
        When they went to Alaska to tour the first album with guitarist Jon Nelson, Mike asked me to get the mail everyday at the Playa Del Rey P.O.box and it kinda went from there.
      4)You mean playing with the band? Well Mike just didn’t want Jon anymore and there I was. We started rehearsing at first with Amery Smith and his buddy Bob Heathcote played bass. I kept bugging Mike to try and get Grant
        back and he eventually did. The bummer was that Amery left after only a few rehearsals to
        start a band with Jon, I think he was sick of Mike, anyway’s i don’t know really what
        happened so I probably shouldn’t say anything. We then started rehearsing at Louiche Mayorgas house and I don’t know why Bob Heathcote left, but I was happy Loui was still there.
    >   5)What Happened at the 321 club? What do you mean?
       6)I heard you and Mike Muir were involved in a incident? Well that was when we were
          down there handing out flyers for the Perkins Palace Show and we bumped into our friends from FFF, Mike and I were kinda crazy that night and I think we even jumped on the hood of someone’s car. Anyway some kid I don’t know who he was with pulled a knife on some guys driving by. Next thing we know here come’s these guys with a baseball bat and they came right up to me and Mike. Mike just stood there silent and next thing I know Mike takes the bat right out of this guy’s hand! You should of seen the look on that guy’s face. They ran like crazy and we just stood there gassing on them. I think the FFF guy’s ran after them or something and we just split.

    >  7)How did Los Cycos start? Well that was “Los Cycos” I mean it was everyone from the first record plus me, except when Amery left. Suicidal was basically banned from playing L.A. behind the crowed devouring the first 10 rows at Perkin’s Palace in Pasadena. I think that was the last show Jon Nelson played and then Mike and I just went into writing mode. He already had “It’s Not Easy” and “A Little Each Day” already complete. We wrote a few other things too only I think he wanted to go in a different direction musically. I remember when he told me “Hey I found a guy who can play with all 8 fingers” and thought great, where does that leave it now? any how that was Rocky George and I think we were rehearsing at Mike Clarke’s house in the garage. At the time he only wanted one guitar player and I was out.
    >  8)Do you know the Guys in No Mercy? Well yeah I met Mike Clarke and their singer I think his name is Kevin. Mike took me to see them play on the steps of the Federal Building on Wilshire Blvd. They had some really cool riffs.
        9)How was it playing with Amery,Louiche and Grant? Well awesome, I only played a few times with Amery. We were both house painters at the time and I think he was pretty cool.Havn’t spoken to him since. I knew Louiche the best he was always making jokes and a lot of fun to be around. As far as Grant I got to know him cause he didn’t have a car and I used to pick him up in my little orange Honda Civic for rehearsals at Loui’s house. he was a great player and we had a similar style. He ended up doing both the rhythm and leads in the studio and I was a little bummed that Mike wouldn’t let me do my part.
        10)Do you keep in touch with them? Not really but not by my choice, I mean they live in Venice and I live in the San Fernando Valley we just don’t cross paths. I don’t have a problem with any of them it’s just been a while.
    >>
        11)How about Mike? No, I actually went to see him at the skate shop but I guess he had a problem with some of the homeboys and he wasn’t in the mood for a visit. I guess once you’re out, that’s it. I don’t have any hard feelings and I think he’s a great business man and of course a talented guy. We just went different directions.I’m better friends with his brother Jim Muir than Mike now but I wish him all the best though.

    What do you do now? I play in a Heavy Metal band named “Cold Shot” but I still love Punk and Thrash. I also teach guitar. Okay thanks good luck man.

    * Loud Lou is the drummer for Chuck Dukowski’s band WURM.

Deixe uma resposta

